Substitute Teacher TrainingSubstitute Teacher Training

A limited, short-call substitute teacher is one who teaches on a day-to-day basis that does not exceed 15 consecutive school days replacing the same teacher. A short-call substitute teacher must hold a Minnesota license that is valid for full-time employment or a Minnesota short call substitute license. These licenses are valid for functioning as a short-call teacher at all grade levels and in all fields.


Qualifications Required:
Persons with a non-education bachelor degree from an accredited college may apply for a limited, short-call substitute teaching license.


Limited Short-call Substitute Teacher Workshops 
Location: Resource Training & Solutions
Time: Day 1: 9 a.m. – 3 p.m. / Day 2: 8:30 a.m.  – 2:30 p.m.
Cost: $175 per person.

Dates: 
September 12 & 13
February 19 & 20, 2019
June 4 & 5, 2019

About the Workshop:

  • Participants will be assisted in completing the online application as required by the MN Department of Education.
  • Participants will be fingerprinted during the workshop so that the Department of Education can perform a background check.
  • Participants will learn to:
    • Recognize the need for, and develop attributes of, a prepared and professional substitute teacher. 
    • Feel confident utilizing skills for effective classroom and behavior management. 
    • Recall district legal and educational issues in a time of need.


The Application Process

  • All participants must apply to the Minnesota Department of Education to obtain a limited, short-call substitute teacher license.  Attending this workshop does not guarantee receipt of this licensure.
  • The Minnesota Department of Education accepts online applications only, with the exception of two pieces, the college transcript and fingerprint card for a background check.  These two pieces will need to be mailed in after the online application is completed.
  • Original transcripts in a college/university sealed envelope.  Have the transcripts sent to your home address, but do not open the envelope when they arrive or they will no longer be considered official.
  • Applicants who received their degree from outside the United States or its territories must forward their foreign transcripts to Minnesota-approved transcript evaluation service and submit the evaluation as part of their application for licensure.
  • It is suggested that you request your transcript immediately.
  • The application processing time for an initial license or an endorsement to an existing Minnesota license normally takes three to four weeks once all supporting documentation has been received in the licensing office. However, the processing time can take up to 12-16 weeks for applications received during our busy months of July, August and September.


College Transcript Requirements

  • Original transcripts in a college/university sealed envelope. Have the transcripts sent to your home address, but do not open the envelope when they arrive or they will no longer by considered official.
  • Applicants who received their degree from outside the United States or its territories must forward their foreign transcripts to Minnesota-approved transcript evaluation service and submit the evaluation as part of their application for licensure.
  • It is suggested that you request your transcript immediately.
  • You will need to send your transcript to the MN Department of Education along with your application.


For more information, please visit the Minnesota Department of Education website.